brighton logo
 
 

The History of Brighton and Hove Albion v West Bromwich Albion

Meetings between Brighton and Hove Albion and West Bromwich Albion have been few and far between down the years but one thing you can guarantee from them - Brighton will usually struggle to score.

That's before we even take into consideration the fact that the Albion failed to sign a striker in the most recent transfer window. In our 19 meetings to date, we've drawn a blank in 10 of them. We've only got four wins in the board and none of those have come in our eight games in the top flight. Strewth.

In fact, games against West Brom have been pretty forgettable all things considered. The highlight was undoubtedly our first meeting in the League Cup in the 1976-77 season. Ipswich Town had become the first Division One side we had managed to beat for 43 years after a second round replay victory at the Goldstone.

Scalp number two came two weeks later at the Hawthorns, Peter Ward scoring twice in a 2-0 win against a Baggies side who would go onto finish in seventh place in the top flight that season. It wasn't a fluke result either, the Albion being easily the better of the two teams.

P W D L F A
Top tier 8 0 5 3 5 13
Second tier 8 2 2 4 5 9
Third tier 2 1 0 1 4 4
League Cup 1 1 0 0 2 1
Total 19 4 7 8 16 27

West Brom 3-1 Brighton Sat 03/04/93 / 3rd tier / Hawthorns / 13,002
Robert Codner
Brighton 3-1 West Brom Wed 10/03/93 / 3rd tier / Goldstone Ground / 7,440
Kurt Nogan, Andy Kennedy (2)
Brighton 2-0 West Brom Wed 20/03/91 / 2nd tier / Goldstone Ground / 6,676
Gary Nelson (2)
West Brom 1-1 Brighton Sat 13/10/90 / 2nd tier / Hawthorns / 9,833
John Byrne
John Byrne scores Brighton's first goal against West Brom for six meetings as the Albion secure a point at the Hawthorns
Brighton 0-3 West Brom Sat 14/04/90 / 2nd tier / Goldstone Ground / 8,371
West Brom 3-0 Brighton Mon 01/01/90 / 2nd tier / Hawthorns / 9,407
West Brom 1-0 Brighton Sat 18/03/89 / 2nd tier / Hawthorns / 11,586
Brighton 0-1 West Brom Wed 21/09/88 / 2nd tier / Goldstone Ground / 7,395
Brighton sink to the bottom of the table after this home defeat to the Baggies. Barry Lloyd's side wouldn't escape the relegation zone until the end of November, a whole two months later
West Brom 0-0 Brighton Sat 28/02/87 / 2nd tier / Hawthorns / 9,100
Brighton 2-0 West Brom Sat 20/09/86 / 2nd tier / Goldstone Ground / 8,766
Danny Wilson, Terry Connor
Brighton 0-0 West Brom Sat 12/02/83 / Top tier / Goldstone Ground / 9,902
West Brom 5-0 Brighton Wed 01/09/92 / Top tier / Hawthorns / 11,546
The Albion's first away game of the season ends in a 5-0 defeat. That set the tone nicely, with the next three being heavy losses, 4-0 at Nottingham Forest, 5-0 at Luton Town and 3-1 at Stoke City.
Brighton 2-2 West Brom Sat 27/02/82 / Top tier / Goldstone Ground / 14,553
Andy Ritchie, Michael Robinson
West Brom 0-0 Brighton Sat 10/10/81 / Top tier / Hawthorns / 13,704
West Brom 2-0 Brighton Sat 17/01/81 / Top tier / Hawthorns / 15,643
Brighton 1-2 West Brom Sat 30/08/80 / Top tier / Goldstone Ground / 7,589
Michael Robinson
Brighton 0-0 West Brom Sat 16/02/80 / Top tier / Goldstone Ground / 22,633
West Brom 2-2 Brighton Sat 29/09/79 / Top tier / Hawthorns / 20,024
Malcom Poskett, Peter  O'Sullivan
West Brom 0-2 Brighton Wed 22/09/76 / League Cup R3 / Hawthorns / 18,455
Peter Ward (2)
Third tier Brighton shocked top tier West Brom with a 2-0 League Cup victory at the Hawthorns. Peter Ward score both as the Seagulls ran their hosts, who would go onto finish 7th, ragged.