brighton logo End of Season Awards 2011/12

Our own brand new 22,000 stadium, a highest finish in 21 years, millions of pounds spent on players, arguably the greatest player ever to pull on the stripes tearing the league apart in March and Brighton and Hove Albion well and truly established as a Championship club having come so close to making the play-offs.

2011-12 will be a season that lives long in the memory, and you voted in your thousands to mark the standout players and moments in our End of Season awards.

And the winners are... Player of the Season: Liam Bridcutt (26.46% of the vote)
Signing Liam Bridcutt on a free last season is looking easily like Gus Poyet's best piece of business in the transfer market. The central midfielder again proved himself vital to the way the Albion play, collecting the ball from the back four in his holding role and dictating the passing game that we've become known for across the country. He saw off tough competition in the form of the consistent Gordon Greer and the undoubted star of the final third of the campaign in Vicente, but he can add the Player of the Season award to the less prestigious Official Club Award.
Previous Winners: Glenn Murray (2011), Andrew Crofts (2010)
Goal of the Season: Inigo Calderon v Bristol City (H) (34.72%)
A patient passing move eventually found Inigo Calderon pushing forward in typical fashion from right back and he cut inside Bristol City's left back before letting an absolute rocket of an effort go with his right foot from 25 yards out. Former England goalkeeper David James was left clutching at thin air as even at full stretch he couldn't get close to the ball as it whistled into the top left corner of the South Stand goal. The stand out goal in the first season at The Amex. Not too bad for a defender who was only just returning to the starting line up after being dropped.
Previous Winners: Liam Bridcutt (2011), Gary Dicker (2010)
Last Minute Goal of the Season: Will Buckley v Doncaster Rovers (H) (79.69%)
The Albion scored five last minute winners in 2011-12, with four of them coming from Will Buckley. The one that took the inaugural Last Minute Goal of the Season award though is one that will forever be remembered in the history of Brighton and Hove Albion as some wonderful quick feet followed by an exquisite defence splitting pass from Craig Noone played the debutant in and he slotted home in the 98th minute of the first game at The Amex to give the Seagulls a winning start to the campaign. Cue mental scenes as 22,000 Albion fans completely lose it. Magical.
Previous Winners: New Category
Own Goal of the Season: Lewis Dunk v Liverpool (A) (91.49%)
Lewis Dunk had an interesting first season as a regular in the first team with a string of impressive performances in the opening months sticking in the mind as well as some well-publicised problems off the pitch. Unfortunately, the majority of non-Albion fans will remember him for another reason - that own goal live on ESPN in the 6-1 FA Cup fifth round routing by Liverpool. The centre back's attempts to clear the ball went drastically wrong as he juggled it in his own box before smashing a volley into the roof of the net right in front of the Kop.
Previous Winners: New Category
Memorable Moment of the Season: The Amex's first game v Doncaster (64.40%)
Fourteen years after saying goodbye to the Goldstone against the same opponents, Brighton and Hove Albion finally played in a home stadium of their own. A capacity crowd of over 22,000 created a carnival atmosphere with flags and an electric noise and the day was capped off in Roy of the Rovers style when Will Buckley marked his debut from the bench with two goals to secure a victory including a 98th minute winner. Never again will Albion fans have a day like that. Football simply doesn't get any better than August 6th 2011.
Previous Winners: Charlton Away (2011), Southampton Away (2010)
Penalty Miss of the Season: Ryan Harley v Millwall (A) (74.32%)
Having claimed that he didn't feel the need to practice set pieces, Ryan Harley didn't do much to adhere himself to the Brighton and Hove Albion faithful or shrug off the image of a man who looks like he doesn't really give a toss as his penalty kick against a struggling Millwall side was more reminiscent of a back pass. It rolled towards Lions goalkeeper David Forde's left allowing him to make what must surely be the easiest save of his career as the game petered into a 1-1 draw, making it six without a win for the Seagulls. Nice one Ryan.
Previous Winners: Elliott Bennett (2011)
Dismissal of the Season: Mauricio Taricco v Southampton (A) (28.80%)
Tano becomes the first player to defend his crown in the history of the awards picking up the Dismissal of the Season gong for the second season in succession. And it was for exactly the same offence as last season, with the assistant manager setting a fine example to his players by receiving a straight red for dissent when he decided to let referee Peter Walton know exactly what he thought of the fact that he had awarded Southampton a penalty for a foul that was a country mile outside the box as the Saints went on to run out comfortable 3-0 winners.
Previous Winners: Mauricio Taricco (2011), Colin Hawkins (2010)
Flair Moment of the Season: Vicente beats the entire Derby County team (84.74%)
Had it have gone in, it would have been his crowning moment in an Albion shirt and that is saying something given some of the other golden moments he has produced. Nobody who was there will forget when Vicente picked up the ball near the edge of his own box before gliding, Lionel Messi and Diego Maradonna like, past the entire Derby County team before smashing an unstoppable effort from 35 yards that cannoned against the crossbar of Frankie Fielding's goal. The collective noise of the crowd that followed said it all.
Previous Winners: Cristian Baz (2011), Inigo Calderon (2010)
Villain of the Season: Glenn Murray (43.92%)
Glenn Murray literally has gone from hero to zero, swapping our Player of the Season award for last season with the Villain of the Season award for this campaign which is some achievement. Despite a brand new stadium, being a popular player among the fans and scoring 22 goals in a title winning team, it wasn't enough for Judas as he walked out on us for Palace on a free transfer - and then just to rub salt in the wounds scored the third goal as the scum became the first visiting team to win at The Amex in the league. FFS Murray.
Previous Winners: Nigel Adkins (2011), Dean Hammond (2010)
Sexiest Player of the Season: Vicente (37.95%)
The biggest shock of the awards comes in the new sexiest player category. With Sexy Pete Brezovan starting as overwhelming favourite (he doesn't have that nickname for no reason), he has been usurped by the Spanish superstar Vicente who can now not only lay claim to being by far and away the most talented member of the squad in a footballing sense but also in terms of looks. Just another reason why Gus Poyet and Tony Bloom need to do everything they can this summer in order to keep him at the club for next season.
Previous Winners: New Category
Receding Hairline of the Season: Gordon Greer (52.25%)
The elevated views offered by the West Stand upper (and soon to be East Stand upper) allow fans the opportunity to see just which players are going bald like never before - certainly far more than you could see at Withdean anyway. That has led to the creation of the Receding Hairline Award with the overwhelming first winner of this new category being captain Gordon Greer, whose bald spot first became noticeable around Christmas time with comparisons to a 50p but in the last four months of the season has grown at an alarming rate.
Previous Winners: New Category